face mask standard to prevent spread of droplet infections

- Jan 07, 2021-

Because of epidemic of coronavirus,  the face mask is necessary wear for the people .

Generally, there are various types of masks on the market, such as cotton masks, paper masks, activated carbon masks, sponge masks, medical surgical masks and N95 masks.But only surgical masks and N95 masks are effective in preventing infectious diseases.


Production standards of masks

The N series is an American standard.For example, the N95 is produced according to the American standard NOISH (National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health), made by 3M and Honeywell.

The FFP series is a European standard.For example, FFP2 is the European standard EN149.

KN series is the Chinese standard.Such as: KN95 is the Chinese standard GB2626-2006.

All masks that have these three standards printed on them are qualified masks.

The higher the number, the higher the level of protection.

It's easier to understand if I put it in a formula:

FFP3 > FFP2=N95=KN95 BBB>90

If the number ends with a "V", there is a valve on mask.

The N95 mask is one of nine types of particulate respirator certified by NIOSH."N" means not suitable for oily particles (cooking oil produced by the smoke is oily particles, and people speak or cough droplets are not oily);"95" means that the filtration efficiency reaches 95% under the testing conditions specified by the NIOSH standard.N95 is not a specific product name As long as the product meets the N95 standard and passes the NIOSH review, it can be called "N95 mask".

All 95 top models are N95 series. 90 series is also OK,  90 series is not as high as 95 level of protection, but can resist more than 90%, much better than the general mask.

In general, the N95 series is sufficient for protection against viruses and influenza.

The model number and performance standard of the mask are printed on the left side of the mask. You can choose the mask according to this.